Four-year election terms OKed

When next year’s civic election takes place Lethbridge residents will be voting in a mayor and eight councillors to four-year terms, rather than the current three-year structure.

A bill passed in the Alberta Legislative Assembly early Wednesday has officially amended the Local Authorities Election Act and changed to the time frame of elected officials, a move originally suggested by municipalities following the last local elections in 2010.

Lethbridge Mayor Rajko Dodic believes there are both positives and negatives to the new term periods.

Read more: